UofR Library Supports Openness

University of Regina [Dr. John Archer Library]
http://www.uregina.ca/library/

I would suspect that in many respects the University of Regina library website is similar to most institutional library sites.  It offers the usual service tabs, search tools, collection access, support contacts, support information, library tutorials, announcements and general information [copyright info as an example].  Links to the library Facebook, Twitter and FourSquare presence is obvious and institutional users can customize their online library experience with MyLibrary account functionality.

In general terms however this particular institutional library site [the part easily found] could not be considered an instructional repository or referatory…at least not for open educational resources.  Obviously the library supports its own collection of physical and online materials [journals, books,materials, etc.] and provides access to the university community.  But access directly to open instructional materials and support made available at the University of Regina is not present and only limited reference to other online repositories is provided.

The one [huge] notable exception to this is that the U of R has an open access initiative of their own called oURspace [http://ourspace.uregina.ca/]. This local repository for peer reviewed work stands out as a true open access resource.   Available under the Faculty tab within services the repository is fully searchable, refers to other repositories and provides additional search capabilities for other institutional repositories.

In fact…within a few minutes I found, viewed and downloaded a research article related to technology use in the net generation that I sadly needed. The site even refers to [top of the list] the Budapest Open Access Initiative and goes on to discuss the cultural point to all of it.

Good job!

This entry was posted in 98827 and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to UofR Library Supports Openness

  1. leahgrrl says:

    Thanks, Stu, for your review. It sounds like the University’s library has some open resources for faculty that could end up being helpful for you and your work. Last quarter I taught at a community college, and there were some OERs for faculty; the English Department had a “course” set up in the Blackboard system to which all faculty were automatically “enrolled.” The OERs were assignments, ideas, and some practical articles about teaching composition that were mostly created by the faculty themselves.
    I clicked on your links and was able to view the site without having to log in or anything. But it does seem like one cannot automatically add anything to it or change anything in it, am I right? I wonder if we will make a distinction here in our coursework in OERs about whether the “O” implies not only the access rights but also the recreate/rework/revision component that seems to be part of the OER impetus?

    • Stu Harris says:

      I think I have the same question concerning how we should be looking at the “O”. I guess partial [availability of content] involvement in the open movement is at least a beginning for most institutions and the next steps will be the recreate/rework/revise. Let’s hope anyway.

      Stu

  2. ebrownorama says:

    Hi Stu,
    I think that most post secondary institutions provide links to open access content as do the U of R and RRC. I find that the problem, at least in the past, has been true access to all content without blocks along the way to actually get to the content that we want and need. I am pleasantly surprised that there is more information available today but we still do have work to do to open the way for everyone to learn what they want, anywhere, anytime. Finding information is one thing, but being able to use it is where the value lies. I will pursue the RRC support for course development using OER as you ask in your post to my blog. This is my first year at RRC so I am still learning “the ropes”. I plan on involving my students with my OER project so this may be an area where we can begin. I will post my findings when we are done.
    Eva

  3. Ben Akoh says:

    Interesting blog post Stu. The question of access to recreate, rework, revise will always border on trust and integrity which the “owner” of the OER has to have in the contributor that they will post “appropriate” content.

    It raises ownership and location issues:

    Ownership: “Even though my content is OER’d, I still own it and will only permit those I give access to recreate, reuse, revise it on my site” Location: “I am responsible for where I repose my content and therefore cannot allow just about anyone recreate or reuse anything onto it.”

    Are these thoughts out of line and against the OER principles? Perhaps. Perhaps not.

    Perhaps, we do OWN the content when we “take” and recreate them in our LOCATION, and then impose the same restrictions that prevailed from where we initially took them.

Leave a Reply

